directjnr.blogg.se

Windows 11 on virtualbox
Windows 11 on virtualbox









It then somehow didn't work out with the October 2021 fix for a compatible version of VirtualBox. But there was reader feedback there that Virtualbox 6.1.28 also did not make Hyper-V compatible on Windows 11. I had addressed the release of the version in the German blog post VirtualBox 6.1.28 freigegeben and also mentioned the fix for Windows 11 compatibility. There it says in the meantime "fixed in 6.1.28". Oracle has documented the status of the conflict between Virtualbox and Hyper-V in ticket 20536 No VM will start on Windows 11 host.

windows 11 on virtualbox

It was said at the time: Oracle is working on a solution and is expected to release a compatible version of VirtualBox in October 2021. Microsoft had imposed a compatibility lock that prevented these devices from installing Windows 11 or offering the OS as an upgrade on such Windows 10 machines. This was because Microsoft and Oracle had identified a compatibility issue between VirtualBox and Windows 11 when Hyper-V or Windows Hypervisor is installed.Īs a result, virtual machines (VMs) might not start and an error would be displayed. Using Virtualbox together with Hyper-V was not possible in Windows 11. Go to the setting of the particular virtual machine -> Click on Display -> Enable the 3D acceleration.I had pointed out the issue in the blog post Windows 11: Known issues (October 5, 2021). If it is showing the 3D virtualization issue, then you should enable 3D acceleration. Enabling 3D Acceleration in Virtual Box Step 1Ĭheck the log to find out the problem. and I found that my issue has been solved. So I have enabled the 3D virtualization option in the settings and restarted the virtual machine. And this time it shows an error related to the 3D view. But I still had problems in this mode freezing was not immediate, but it happened, especially when changing screens.

windows 11 on virtualbox

Then I tried different view modes, like scaled mode, full screen mode, and seamless mode, and observed that it was running well in scaled mode. But I couldn’t find a way to remove guest additions from the Windows VM. Because the issue only arose after installing the guest addition, I tried to uninstall the guest addition. In my case, I didn’t find any problems in the log file. How I solved my case of Windows 11 freeze issue Otherwise there could be some other reason of freezing Windows 11 in VirtualBox. Enable the 3D acceleration if you are facing issue after upgrading the guest addition.











Windows 11 on virtualbox